DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Newbie - so why not start with a Mavic mini flyaway - and the DJI support response

Idyllwildrone

Reactions
Hello everyone,
Just like many others here, I am a new drone pilot and recently purchased my first drone – the Mavic mini.

I watched a bunch of videos on youtube (some reviews, some tips etc) and also read the manual. Got a little worried about high altitude performance after watching one video – then ended up on this forum and found the other video (Hawaii video) showing there’s not really an issue. I live at 5500ft and also was planning to take the mini up to Tahquitz peak (9Kft).

Then on my 28th flight – 2 minutes into the flight – the drone ~1400ft away from me – the screen went blank.
Since I had only flown forward in a straight line, I tried flying it straight back. The screen came back at one point and I was able to turn back towards me. Then it went blank again.
And that was the last time I saw my drone.

I tried RTH but was not 100% sure it had updated – and it did not return. I did check the find my drone map and went to search in the general area where it said the last known location was – but did not find it again.

DJI support
So I contacted DJI to explain what happened. They told me to send them the flight record, and my proof of purchase. I uploaded flight records to the DJI website, emailed them the proof of purchase, and was told their engineers would look at the records and be in touch in a few days to see if this was a warranty issue.
I thought that was pretty unlikely. So I ordered a replacement drone (this time just the basic $399 version since I still have the left overs of my original Fly more bundle. Btw – this gave me the opportunity to company both “versions” and just for the carrying case and 2 extra batteries and a changer I would say the Fly more bundle is definitely worth it)