DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

No signal. But control still flies.

NickR

Reactions
I am fairly new at flying drone.
Today I took it out and flew it... after a while.. the app shows NO SIGNAL. It was however, still within sight.. so I used the RC to fly the drone closer to me and landed it.

Question.
1) No signal but I still had control of the drone... Is it referring to No GPS signal ? I didn't take a quick glance at the GPS strength at the time.

Obviously since I still could control the drone with my sticks.. it shouldn't refer to RC signal.

2) Could it be I have bad connection between the phone and the RC controller ?

Anybody had this issue ?
Thx.

The feed wouldnt have the go 4 app screen shot. I didnt screen shot the flight.

The usual suspects are a recent update (DJI or phone) or phone to RC connection. A quick search of Mavic "no signal" pointed to Go 4 as the culprit. When I unplugged my tablet from the RC then Go 4 showed Disconnected instead of no signal. Go 4 version 4.1.18 has been causing problems (it hosed my video feed) and I had to reinstall 4.1.15 which has been very steady.

I am fairly new at flying drone.
Today I took it out and flew it... after a while.. the app shows NO SIGNAL. It was however, still within sight.. so I used the RC to fly the drone closer to me and landed it.

Question.
1) No signal but I still had control of the drone... Is it referring to No GPS signal ? I didn't take a quick glance at the GPS strength at the time.

Obviously since I still could control the drone with my sticks.. it shouldn't refer to RC signal.

2) Could it be I have bad connection between the phone and the RC controller ?

Anybody had this issue ?
Thx.

This sounds like a simple issue with your DJI GO 4 app. An app problem can also cause "Aircraft DIsconnect" while in fact the RC shows all normal feeds from the MP.