DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

No submarine mode? Into the drink...

ChallengerPilot

Reactions
The last words I said to my brother before he grabbed the remote to my drone was "don't crash it...or you bought it". He flew it for a few minutes and then put in the shallows of a fresh water lake. Maybe I should not have said anything. He has a Mavic but not much experience with them. I didn't think he would sink it though.

So, my options are this.

1.) Try to get this thing fixed..if it can even be fixed. (It has been drying for 5 days and will not connect.)
2.) Have him replace just the drone. (I have accessories that only work with the M2P)
3.) Or get a Mavic Air 2. I am not a pro drone user so.....I could probably be just fine with the Air 2

Is there any value in parting this thing out? I crashed my first Mavic 3+ years ago and messed it up pretty bad but sold it for parts.

Is it worth having DJI look at it? Again, it was in clean fresh water and only in the water for about 5 minutes.

My bro is a generous guy and I hate that this happened. I have been using the drone more lately and have some plans for more use in the future. Nothing commercial though...

Thoughts?

T

Bin the batteries for a starter. Very hard to say how much damage was caused but DJI could give you a quote.

I would cost a bare drone and battery then quote for repair...let ya bro choose the option he wants to do and maye you cover the dif if ya want a ma2

Last edited:
Reactions: Pedwards
If he was half decent he would have replaced it for you by now! What an idiot for flying an unfamiliar drone over water ..... YouTube probably has a video showing disassembly; open it up asap to dry the circuit board and motors (a hair dryer might help) and then try it with a second battery. Good luck. ?

Careful there dude. [Language removed by ADMIN] happens.