DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

On the fence

Mrhook

Reactions
Hello everyone! I am new to this forum however not new to drones and RC in general. I am on the fence between the Avata and the Mavic 3. I currently own the Air 2s with the Rc pro controller but like some of the features, the Mavic 3 has to offer, Aperture. I have been an avid Amateur Photographer for years and I also fly Rc helicopters for the past 30 years. I only want to purchase one drone at this time so there ls a problem I have in making this decision. I know they are used for two totally different purposes but would like to know what others would buy first. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Last edited by a moderator:
If you have the Air2S and are happy with it, the Mavic 3 might be overkill. I have a Mavic 3 and use it professionally. I also have a Mini 3 pro. the Avata is a different experience. I ordered one and am excited to get it. I view it as a new type of drone that provides a more imersive experience and the ability to fly in more challenging situations. It looks like a lot o fun....

People will gravitate towards whatever suits their needs or wants more.
You can't choose what's best for you on the basis of what others might buy.
No, however decisions could be altered through others experiences. With rc helicopters this has always held true. I will over time own both, just gaining info for now.

Reactions: LoudThunder
For fun, go with the Avata and use your Air2s for photography.

If you are unhappy with your Air2s as a camera, maybe look at the Mavic 3.

I have a Mavic 2 Pro, which has a variable aperture, and honestly I don't use the variability that much as I'm rarely shooting where it makes a real difference. (I shoot landscapes, mostly, so shallow depth-of-field isn't something I need!) I love the big sensor and dynamic range, but a variable aperture isn't as useful as I thought it would be when I bought the drone.