DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Palm launching near crash - why?

luisfandre

Reactions
Hi everyone,

I am new to drone world, and have been piloting a mavic air for the past month very carefully.
As where I use the drone is sandy, today i decided to learn Palm landing and Launching after Watching some tutoriais.
Landing was very easy, however I had a bad time trying to launch it.
As I turned the motor on, i positioned it in the Palm of my hand, and accidentally angulated slightly the drone right Before takeoff. Suddenly the engine went full force, and I got scared and tryed to hold it with my case, because I thought it would fly from my hand to ground.
Result: 1 broken propeller.
I am now trying to understand what happened, as I thought the drone would only compensate inclination if it had already launched, and not only by Being motors on.
Can anyone help me understand it to prevent happening again?
Should i be worried with my engine, as it was forced against, however without any greater visible damage?

Thank you all!

you would be better off getting a take off mat its safer and then you can hand land if you feel happy doing it when you are very close to the drone the wind can have an effect on it and the props can do a lot of damage to skin and faces

Reactions: freightshaker
Powering motors on ground and then picking up is a bad idea. Instead hold in hand with motors off then auto launch from the hand.

Once the motors are on, it is effectively in flight. If it is picked up and twisted, it will try to right itself against the unknown influence. You probably would flail to right yourself if a giant picked you up and made motions that would have you think you'll fall.