DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

photo distortions

rino

Reactions
I just got the new Mavic Air 2 and it looked great, but...on the photos of buildings I noticed stange, ugly, wavy distortions, which are impossible to correct. What is wrong? Should I return the drone and require a new one, is it something that can be fixed with new firmware, does anybody know what is going on? It is not a barrel lens distortion that is normal for a wide angle lens. I am a professional photographer for more than 40 years, and I newer saw something like this

Attachments

• DJI_0133.jpg
    DJI_0133.jpg
    376.1 KB · Views: 39
  • DJI_0056-.jpg
    DJI_0056-.jpg
    363.6 KB · Views: 44
I just got the new Mavic Air 2 and it looked great, but...on the photos of buildings I noticed stange, ugly, wavy distortions, which are impossible to correct. What is wrong? Should I return the drone and require a new one, is it something that can be fixed with new firmware, does anybody know what is going on? It is not a barrel lens distortion that is normal for a wide angle lens. I am a professional photographer for more than 40 years, and I newer saw something like this
Weird, did you take the plastic sticker off the camera lens that it came with?

It wouldn’t be unusual in a video clip if there was slight motion as the camera has a rolling shutter but very odd in a photograph.

What shutter speed was used? If a slow shutter speed was used there is a potential for vertical image distortion due to vibration in the horizontal axis. The straight lines of the building will make it more obvious as our eyes/brain know it should be seeing straight lines but the people may also be distorted but far less obvious.

Could you try shooting straight on to a rectangular building with as little possible foreground as possible and fill the frame. It may give a better idea of what is going on.