DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Photojournalist in Brazilian Amazon, which drone for great raw files ?

Alessandro Falco

Reactions
Hi all, and congratulations to this great community I'm studying since few days.
My name is Alessandro Falco and I'm an italian photojournalist and documentary photographer.
My work is collected on: www.alessandrofalco.com
I recently moved to Belem do Pará, Brazilian Amazon, to start working on environmental and social issues affecting these areas.
I've no experience with drones, I just flight once during a wedding and it was good, and I was not supposing to start using one professional one day.
My clients are quite exigent on photo quality and I suppose that a drone may also give me opportunity to sell video from rainforest also.
My idea is to buy one but imported products are limited here and cost a bit of money so I'm struggling to decide which drone may help me.
Mavic pro 2 versions are crazily expensive here except for one piece of the ZOOM version who's available in my city for a bit more than 2000 Euros.
Of course as a photographer I would go for the 2 PRO but it's not an option buying new here.
I was interested on the Mavic AIR because its portability would not affect my already big equipment, but I can't find info about RAW files with it.
My work requires I travel with the drone for days, backpacking it even when not using because of large distances.
Other two choices are the PRO 1 (same price of air) and the SPARK for half the price.

I need professional results, RAW files and a good resolution with no video editing.

Approx files here:
PRO 2 ZOOM = 2100 euro
PRO or AIR = around 1000 euro
SPARK = around 600 euro

Anyone could help me clarify my choice ?

I add few photos I took of illegal gold mines with a DSLR while flying over rainforest. I would like a similar resolution with proper editing.

Thanks a lot!

Attachments

• Bites of Amazonia-3.JPG