DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

"Pinch" vs "Thumbs" - Method Discussion

hashfly

Reactions
Firstly, I searched for this topic but did not find anything, apologies if I am duplicating an existing thread, I genuinely looked for one.

As a new pilot I'm curious as to what the more experienced members on this forum have to say when it comes to using ones thumbs vs pinching the controls with two fingers.

From what I have read / seen most advise to use the "pinching" method for the improved sensitivity.

From my experience, I flew non-gps drones (cheap hollystone types) for many years I always used thumbs. I still find myself wanting to use thumbs for my non gps drones (fast, twitchy) but am training myself to use pinching for photography with my Mini (first "real" drone).

Would love advice here, should I attempt to really focus on one method? or is my hybrid approach reasonable?

Visual for those who do not know what i am referring to

ai110138519-18-thumb-Thumbs%20or%20Pinch.jpg

I find pinching better when pulling back/down on the sticks

With limited experience I find that pinching gives me a little more control but tend to do both during a flight. Perhaps it's a preference sorta thing.

Reactions: Bobvt
I've been flying RC for most of my life, I learned using the thumb method and old habits are hard to break. Yes pinching gives you finer movement on the controls, it's just hard for me to switch. Also pinching is much easier if you have a lanyard on your RC as you don't have to worry about your grip as much with it being supported by your neck instead of your hands.

Firstly, I searched for this topic but did not find anything, apologies if I am duplicating an existing thread, I genuinely looked for one.

As a new pilot I'm curious as to what the more experienced members on this forum have to say when it comes to using ones thumbs vs pinching the controls with two fingers.