DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Places to fly in Marin

marinsd

Reactions
I’m new to drones - Mini 3 -(although a licensed pilot so have familiarity with airspace regs). I’m unclear as to where it’s legal to fly in Marin, as people say there are few places, but I don’t see many blanket restrictions. Under 400’ what I’m seeing so far:
  • Can’t fly in GGNRC
  • Can‘t fly in County or State parks or refuges (BUT airplane hill in Mt Tam is okay??? Ditto with Muir Beach Overlook???)
  • In Tiburon can’t fly over schools or events (but everywhere else?)
I don’t see many other restrictions. How about along the Richardson Bay shoreline. Or same on public beach around McNear’s factory? Other places?

Any guidance would be appreciated - and would be interested in getting together to fly & compare notes.

Greetings from Birmingham Alabama, welcome to the forum! I use UAV Coach for such. Great resource

check the B4UFLY app. That will tell you where it's legal to fly.

Hi Neighbor! I live in the SF Bay Area as well. Do you have the B4UFLY app which was mentioned? It helps...
I see most of the ocean coast not open to drone flying, but the east side by the bay is more open. There might be some nice opportunities near the bay around Larkspur, it looks like most of Mt Tam is open except the summit drive and peak, lots around Fairfax and hills above that seems open...and then the east side of Tomales bay looks open. I have been meaning to get over there sometime and explore possible fly areas in Marin...and the rural area north to Petaluma and over towards Bodega Bay as well...

Send me a private message if you'd like to talk....

Reactions: pelagic_one