DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Poll Should Hobbyists & Commercial Pilots Be permitted to fly over Crowds

Permitted to operate over crowds

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
As a hobbyist myself I would want to say yes but since there is a lot of reports about drone crashing and falling from the sky I would say NO. It will still be safe to keep some distance.
I believe in Us
So hopefully the/our community can convince you into changing that big fat
No into Yes

I believe in Us
So hopefully the/our community can convince you into changing that big fat
No into Yes
I have no doubts in the community and I believe everyone here is responsible enough. But I was just thinking if it will be publicly declared that it is ok then some might abuse it. Some newbie or pranksters might just fly over crowds without and cause some accidents.

I would have to say in general, no. I think it would depend somewhat on the size of the drone. Things can happen to a drone that is beyond the PIC's control and a large drone falling could cause alot of harm. It would only take one incident and people would want to ban them everywhere. It's already hard enough to find a place to fly, at least around more populated areas....

As much as I hate the word “no” feel free/welcome to express why you would vote no.

Peacefully please:)

I'd say no, because it doesn't matter if the operator is a hobbiest, commercial, insured or not.
Aircraft can fail due to mechanical, electric or electronical errors. Take in account external forces (birdstrike) or pilot errors such as flying in excessive wind, aircaft hits a structure and falls down, to name a few.

I will say yes, if:
Operator is commercial and insured.
No automated flights.
Aircraft is below a specific MTOW.
Aircraft has failsafe features such as: redundant power (batteries), minimum of redundant 2 IMU and GNSS receivers, min. hex prop layout, a parachute.