DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

[POLL] What frame rate do you TYPICALLY/USUALLY use?

When filming with your Mavic, which frame rate do you usually use?

• 24 fps

Votes: 11 19.0%
  • 25 fps

Votes: 5 8.6%
  • 30 fps

Votes: 35 60.3%
  • 48 fps

Votes: 1 1.7%
  • 50 fps

• 60 fps

Votes: 4 6.9%
  • 120 fps (HD)

• Total voters

floyd

Reactions
I'm still learning about the capabilities of my Mavic 2 Pro and about cinematic techniques. During my research I've learned there are many who like lower frame rates (24/30) and many who like higher rates (60/120). The point of the poll is born more out of curiosity, but I am hoping folks will explain why they usually use a certain frame rate. I understand most if not all folks use different frame rates for different reasons. But when looking back on your filming with your Mavic, which rate do you most often use?

I am a bit confused (not unusual) about what to do if shooting different frame rates for a particular project. For example: Let's say I want to create a video that will include some slow motion footage. To achieve smooth slow motion it's recommended to film at 60+ fps. But I also want the video to have a "cinematic/film" feel, which means shooting at a lower frame rate. When importing this footage into FCPX, will the software maintain the different frame rates or change them to be the same? Is it best to use one frame rate for a particular project? If a project is going to have slow motion, is it best to film the entire project at 60+ fps?

I'm likely asking some pretty basic (possibly foolish) questions. Please be kind when commenting on my ignorance.