DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

[Poll] What is your Part 107 status?

What's your Part 107 status?

• Don't have it. Don't want it.

Votes: 4 8.2%
  • Don't have it. Undecided about getting it.

Votes: 11 22.4%
  • Don't have it. Definitely getting it.

Votes: 6 12.2%
  • Have it for full-time professional/commercial reasons.

Votes: 4 8.2%
  • Have it for part-time commercial jobs.

Votes: 17 34.7%
  • Have it. Wanted to enhance my appreciation for the hobby.

Votes: 7 14.3%

• Total voters

floyd

Reactions
I'm still wondering if I should invest the time and money to get my Part 107. So I'm curious to know who has their's.

I'm a commercial pilot (CFII) so it was pretty simple for me to get involved with sUAVs. I've done part time work and spent quite a bit on several different drones. As far as what I've made vs what I've invested, I'm about 50% in the red, expect to break even this summer. With that said, my expenses gave me a pretty good tax write-off.

I guess it depends what you want and what you expect out of this field. To me it's a part time gig that brings in "beer money." To others, they are looking to make this a professional full-time freelance gig and it seems that there are many out there who are very frustrated or disillusioned. I'm just rolling with the whole thing and enjoying flying drones while hopefully making a few bucks.

I'm a commercial pilot (CFII) so it was pretty simple for me to get involved with sUAVs. I've done part time work and spent quite a bit on several different drones. As far as what I've made vs what I've invested, I'm about 50% in the red, expect to break even this summer. With that said, my expenses gave me a pretty good tax write-off.