DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Preflight procedure list for flying indoors?

Marty Markoe

Reactions
Site
www.martymarkoephotography.com
I'm Part 107 certified. I was wearing a Part 107 tee shirt while playing Pickleball in a large indoor facility. The Picklbeall Pro asked me to make a video for their Web Site. This would be gratis. I'm a confident pilot but have not flown indoors. I've read dozens of threads on flying indoors. There's good suggestions but much of it conflicting.* The best suggestions I've gleaned come from the respected msinger. These are:
1. Set RTH to hover
2. Turn off downward sensors
3. Use prop grads to minimize potential human and drone damage

* For example, attitude vs. Sport vs. Tripod mode

Looking for any realistic tried and true things to add to 1, 2, and 3?

set RTH to hover ? is there such a setting ?

turn off downward sensors ? then the craft will be in ATTI mode. You will found yourself busy keeping the craft in position instead of framing pictures / video.

use of prop guards is a good advice

use vision mode, tripod, cinematic, active track, point of interest .... modes as needed but never sport mode

turn on collision avoidance but don't rely fully on it.

practice, practice, practice

Reactions: charliej
personally i would not bother,there are to many variables to consider ,liability if it all goes wrong ,your drone, the outcome of any damage that your drone may inflict all these things need to be considered ,sounds more like a part 107 job to me but you already know that good luck

Some of this may not be applicable to the Mavic model you are flying, but for the Mavic Pro:
1. Set RTH to hover - YES
2. Turn off downward sensors - YES/NO. Depending on conditions, the downward sensors may keep the Mavic from drifting but it may also make it rise unexpectedly if you fly too close to something underneath it.