DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Propellers: How damaged is too damaged?

Riverbravo

Reactions
I have had my drone about 8 months. I am new to the Hobby and early on I was having too much fun with sport mode and crashed into Grandma's house slightly. At the time I thought the Drone was completely fine and have continued to fly it with no issue. Fast forward to now I have been exploring other propeller options. My researche has lead me to many horror stories about flying with damaged propellers Etc.I decided to examine my propellers closely. I noticed that several of them have a slight burr at the edge of the tips. Just enough enough to catch your finger nail if you run it against the underside. There is absolutely no damage to the leading or trailing edges of the blades. There are also no chips, cracks, bends, or signs of warping. The Drone runs exactly how it did when it was out of the box and has had many hours of flight since the crash. Am I in the clear or could something happen suddenly? Money is tight these days and if possible I would like to get the maximum use of these propellers. After all the horror stories OEM is all I will be putting on this drone. They are significantly more pricey and I don't want to spend the money until I absolutely have to. Thank you for any and all help.

Reactions: BigAl07
Don't take what I'm about to say a condescending, but this is the rule I follow. If you cannot afford to keep up with the maintenance of your hobby, vehicle, home...etc, then maybe you are over your head. 10-20 dollar set of props is a breaking point! you really have to think what happens if you need another battery or something that will cost you hundreds to replace or repair?

Reactions: Greasy and Thomas B