DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Question as I prepare for my first flight incase something goes wrong?

kewadiak

Reactions
Hello I am new to owning a DJI drone. My question is how to set up the mavic incase it gets lost or fly's away on its own. Does it automatically save flight information incase this happens so DJI can investigate the cause. Sorry if this is a dumb question just trying to get a better understanding? Is it always a good idea to have the app setup to cache a copy of the video on your device?

Reactions: SeaFox
Does it automatically save flight information incase this happens so DJI can investigate the cause
Yes. A flight log is stored on both your mobile device and the Mavic's internal memory card.

Is it always a good idea to have the app setup to cache a copy of the video on your device?
For warranty dispute purposes? I don't think it would be helpful in most cases. The log usually contains enough information to figure out whether or not the incident will be covered under warranty.

If you loose conection to your drone it is designed to return to you home point ... just make sure you allow the drone time to record your home point before you take off and i always take off vertically to 10 meters slowly this helps the precision landing system to record the data it needs to land in the exac t spot you took off from ..

Yes record video to you mobile as this can help if you do have any issues as well as the flight log file that is saved.

Thank you makes sense. Now is the flight log always on or do you have to activate it each flight or log in before each flight somewhere?

Now is the flight log always on or do you have to activate it each flight or log in before each flight somewhere?
The logs are created automatically.

As many have learned the hard way, ensure your RTH height is set above the highest obstacle that could be in it's path.