DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Question Concerning Fly Zones

Vol4Life

Reactions
Total noob here lol, so any advice is welcome and appreciated. I purchased my first drone, a Mavic Air 2. Planning on trying it out next week sometime at a relative’s who has about 10 acres and a nice open area to fly. My only concern is there is a local airport within 5 miles. This airport does not have a control tower so is is the area within 5 miles considered non controlled class G airspace? Still doing a lot of research on all of this stuff and it can be quiet confusing. I have also downloaded AirMap and the airport is circled in orange and shows an advisory but if I plan a flight it shows that I am following all rules. From my understanding this is not controlled airspace as there is no control tower. I have registered with faa for recreational use and will be putting my registration number on the drone before flying. Just want to make sure I’m doing everything legit. Like I said any help or advice is welcome. Thanks