DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Question concerning Kittyhawk - can I fly here?

fguthrie

Reactions
Hi All, I am a new pilot. Like many others, I have been spending a lot of time learning, watching videos, reading posts, etc. before flying I have a Mavic 2 Pro and have made 1 test flight in my home (It has high ceilings). I know flying in your home is not advisable ... but I had to do it lol. I live in San Diego and flying can be challenging. Moving on ... please take a look at the attached screen shot. I am trying to figure out if I can fly here or not ... it is my home area. I get different results with Airmap vs Kittyhawk. As far as I can tell in Airmap, I am good to go without authorization up to 200 feet. IMO, I don't need authorization and can fly up to 200 feet - but I could be wrong. Your guidance is appreciated - thank you.

Attachments

• Kittyhawk_home2.jpg
    Kittyhawk_home2.jpg
    239.4 KB · Views: 146
I am new also, From what I see on your screen cap from Kittyhawk indicates your good to go, just don't fly into the Blue area that indicates zero feet as well as the other colored areas

Reactions: fguthrie
I am new also, From what I see on your screen cap from Kittyhawk indicates your good to go, just don't fly into the Blue area that indicates zero feet as well as the other colored areas
Thanks for your reply. You got me to looking closer, thanks. As far as I can tell I agree with you. The cool thing is my house is in the white area which I believe I don't need authorization for. But I see now (thanks to you) that the app is telling me that the blue area is close by and I can't fly there.

Anyone else wnt to chime in? Just want to make sure us newbees have it right. Thanks!

Reactions: Gindra and fguthrie
You need LAANC authorization for the area you intend to fly.
View attachment 87888

Your definite source should be the FAA: