DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Questions on the RTH function when using Active Track.

TLLUT

Reactions
I am a new pilot, the Mavic 2 Pro being my first drone. I bought it for the purpose of being able to shoot high quality adventure sports (skiing, mountain biking, and whitewater rafting) pics and video. I am still learning to trust the all of the automated "obstacle avoidance" features, as well as the Return to Home function. So, a couple of questions. If I am standing on a steep mountain peak and I shoot using Active track and then use the RTH function, what flight path will the drone use to return? Will it ascend straight up to the elevation where it started or does it follow its Active track flight path? I ask because my subjects will be descending several hundred feet in elevation in rugged alpine terrain, and vortexing winds can be an issue. Secondly, how well do the obstacle avoidance sensors work in relation to water when shooting over a river or lake? Would the sensor system override the auto-land function when over water?