Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Quick release plate to swap DJI Mavic 2 pro and zoom cameras??

Brelsh

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
3
Age
41
Just wondering if this is something anyone is working on, like a quick release adapter plate? I have the Pro but definitely have situations where I could use the zoom features. I would have thought one of the 3rd party companies might be looking into it if DJI weren't keen. Thoughts??
 

Kgitti

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2018
Messages
45
Reaction score
22
Age
69
I would think that is impossible for many reasons. Not that I actually know anything but I would assume there is a lot more too it like differences in the software for sure, adapter plate would throw off gimbal balance etc.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HighlandsVideo

Brelsh

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
3
Age
41
I would think that is impossible for many reasons. Not that I actually know anything but I would assume there is a lot more too it like differences in the software for sure, adapter plate would throw off gimbal balance etc.
From what I've seen the gimble comes with the camera when ordered, (from pictures I've seen) so the balance should be unaffected, as far as software goes it's all built in already. It just detects what camera is being used and offers appropriate actions.
 

DanMan32

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
2,309
Reaction score
729
Age
53
A plug and play gimbal assembly would be a serious challenge. There's a lot of delicate connections that need to be made, with high speed data going through several of them.

What happened to Thunderdrones anyway?
 

BigAl07

Administrator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jun 1, 2017
Messages
2,106
Reaction score
2,461
Age
48
Location
Western NC, USA
What happened to Thunderdrones anyway?
He made some mistakes and was removed from our forum. See a few more details at:
 

drawph

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Sure you do. Zooming compresses the scene. Cropping in on a high res clip won't give you compression. BTW, In this video you've got a guy swapping out the pro with the zoom:

and this one:
 

WithTheBirds

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2018
Messages
1,102
Reaction score
607
Sure you do. Zooming compresses the scene. Cropping in on a high res clip won't give you compression. BTW, In this video you've got a guy swapping out the pro with the zoom:

and this one:
Sure about that? Crop and zoom will give same perspective taken from the same position.
 

drawph

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Sure about that? Crop and zoom will give same perspective taken from the same position.
You bet. Look at the "Dolly Zoom" shot and watch how the scene changes at every focal length. If you zoom in while backing up, the scene compressed. Conversely, if you zoom out while pushing in, everything stretches out and distorts. Can't do that by cropping in on a fixed focal length shot.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Thomas B

WithTheBirds

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2018
Messages
1,102
Reaction score
607
You bet. Look at the "Dolly Zoom" shot and watch how the scene changes at every focal length. If you zoom in while backing up, the scene compressed. Conversely, if you zoom out while pushing in, everything stretches out and distorts. Can't do that by cropping in on a fixed focal length shot.
You missed the important part in my claim, specifically “from the same position”. If you maintain your distance from the subject crop and zoom maintain the same perspective.
 

GadgetGuy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
573
Reaction score
207
Just wondering if this is something anyone is working on, like a quick release adapter plate? I have the Pro but definitely have situations where I could use the zoom features. I would have thought one of the 3rd party companies might be looking into it if DJI weren't keen. Thoughts??
Best option is a second new bare M2 aircraft upon which to permanently mount the second camera. Currently $599, but was $499 a few weeks ago. Takes just 20 seconds to bind the RC to the other aircraft. Much simpler!
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
67,616
Messages
783,375
Members
94,799
Latest member
Reynolds4FSU