DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Real Estate Business

Johndronebusiness

Reactions
Hello Ladies and Gentleman,

First of all, I apologize if this isn't the right section to post this or you guys heard this millions of times before.

I am just a simple guy from Delaware who enjoys flying his drone and taking pictures as a hobby. I have been flying my Mavic Pro for over 2 years now.

I finally contacted my favorite realtor who we became friends with after she sold us our house a little 2 years ago and she told me to dip into drone aerial photography busines ASAP and she will give me some business and there is a huge potential to grow BIG TIME around where I live.. and maybe more chances in another states in the future as well, who knows.

Anyways, I just never owned a business or looked into it.

I know that I have to go get my remote pilot license to be able to do commercial...

I tried to a little research on my own and It looks like I could just register my company in my state and start a Single Member LLC....

SO my question, what steps should I took for the small business owners?
or
DO I HAVE TO? start an llc or any kind if I work and do jobs for realtors or lets say wedding photos, videos, etc?

Thank you for your advice!

Do it legally - as you mentioned - and get your Part 107 card.

Start slow, and build it. It’s like raising a child. At first, you think you’re ill equipped, and soon the child is grown, and happy, and healthy, and you realize you did a great job.

The LLC can probably wait until you begin to have steady work, but liability insurance would be smart for any and all commercial operations, and there are multiple options for app based policies that charge a flat rate during each flight. I seem to recall it being around $10/hr. Others here may know more details.