DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Recommended IPAD for Mavic Air?

Ztopgun28

Reactions
So I have a Verizon Samsung S10+ with a Snapdragon 855 processor with Android version 10. It does NOT have the exynos. I heard exynos may cause problems. I also have a 10.1 Samsung 3GB RAM 128 GB Tab A '2019 model (T510) but does have exynos, with Android version 9. I didnt see either one on the DJI compatability list, and a DJI tech told me these arent on the list too, but I read that some people have no issues with these. If in case these both dont work with my Mavic Air I'm getting very soon, which IPADS work well? I heard DJI is more IPAD user friendly if I want to use a tablet for my drone. Im not looking for the most expensive IPAD, but what I need to get by but with still good performance. Im new to Apple and this would be my first apple product. And would I download DJI fly app or DJI Go 4 app? Thanks.

Last edited:
I just got an iPad mini 5. It’s perfect. Easy to carry around, great screen, good battery.

The down side of a tablet like the iPad mini is the screen brightness. I love the screen size, but unless I have shade, it's almost useless. I much prefer my Galaxy S8. Screen is smaller, but considerably brighter.

Reactions: Ztopgun28
I use the iPad 10.2 (2019) version that is on sale a lot and I love the size, weight, and usability for things other than drones.

You use this one right?
Yes that one. I also use the same app as you just a different drone. The mavic 2 pro. It works flawlessly with the app so far. No complaints at all and it's been more stable then my pixel 3 which was pretty darn stable.

I also added a garmin Bluetooth GPS because I had Amazon points to spend. It keeps my location on the map accurate so I can set my RTH poiny at the remote's location if I moved in the field. It's not required to fly but a nice piece of mind for me lol.