DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Replace props in pairs?

mcascone

Reactions
I haven't heard this anywhere, but the question occurred to me. I discovered a crack on a propeller so I will replace it. Is there any reason to replace one of opposite-color props at the same time? I can't think of a reason that this would be necessary, but I'm new at this.

It's a Mavic Pro, if model is a factor.

Reactions: pedroj
So this is where I might disagree. Depending on the situation. If I took a hit and damaged a prop, yes I would change just the one. But if I got a stress fracture or some other type of just sudden damage, I would replace all 4. My thinking is that whatever caused that one to start to fail may happen to another, and it may happen mid flight. For 30 bucks, it’s cheaper to just replace all 4 then have a suddenly catastrophic failure in flight and lose the drone. I may be paranoid, but props are literally the things holding your drone in the air, don’t take chances. It’s like tires on a car, it’s literally the thing holding your car on the road, don’t skimp.

Since we’re using tires for an analogy, I think he hit a pothole and has a flat tire. Change your flat and replace with a new tire. As long as the other ones are good, you just need one new one, no need to replace the set [emoji106]

Reactions: Former Member