DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Return to home problem

David2531

Reactions
I am new to drones and just got the mavic mini. So far I am enjoying it but I am having an issue with the return to home function when I press the return to home button it will just land wherever it is at it does not matter whether I do it from the controller or the app it does the same thing. Anyone else have this problem or know what may be causing it. Thanks!

Two things come to mind. If you don't have a good GPS signal, it doesn't know where to return to. With GPS, there are several behaviors depending on the drone's distance from the home point. If close, the drone will just land. The particulars are in the manual under intelligent RTH.

Reactions: WAXMAN
Cool! I read where someone launch by the water's edge and went flying over the water. They lost their control link over the water but close to the home point. The RTH put the drone in the drink.

They lost their control link over the water but close to the home point. The RTH put the drone in the drink.
I have to beg to differ on that. Unless the pilot was a complete idiot. RTH should never be set that low. Been flying too long so thats an easy answer.

I wasn't referring to setting the rth altitude too low. For the MA (can't speak to the MM) if the unit is within 5 meters of the home point, the RTH will just land the unit. The scenario was discussed in another thread. The flyer lost comms with his drone just over the water and close to the home point where the unit just hovered. When the battery ran down and triggered the rth, the unit just landed on the water.

I wasn't referring to setting the rth altitude too low. For the MA (can't speak to the MM) if the unit is within 5 meters of the home point, the RTH will just land the unit. The scenario was discussed in another thread.
True, there are threads all over in regards to RTH.