DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Rockland County, NY, Expert Advice Requested

BAcoustic

Reactions
Is anybody in my area who can enlighten me, maybe share some knowledge not on YouTube. As of now I will probably purchase a Mavic 2, unless the Mavic 3 appears on my radar soon. I love the Skydio but the no flying in the low light is a big problem as that's the most interesting light. I'm just starting out and could use some wisdom. I'll buy dinner, LOL

Reactions: anotherlab
Welcome aboard BAcoustic and greetings from Albany, NY!?

I'm not near Rockland, that's a couple of hours south of me, but I'll toss my two cents in. I don't forsee a Mavic 3 any time soon. There would be advance notice from people leaking images and from when it hits the FCC database. It follows the same rule for basically any electronic device, buy for what you need now - there will always be a newer version.

If you want to fly in low light, you can attach LED strobes. That will greatly increase the visibility at dusk. I've taken some nice shots over the Hudson as the Sun was starting to set.

Is anybody in my area who can enlighten me, maybe share some knowledge not on YouTube. As of now I will probably purchase a Mavic 2, unless the Mavic 3 appears on my radar soon. I love the Skydio but the no flying in the low light is a big problem as that's the most interesting light. I'm just starting out and could use some wisdom. I'll buy dinner, LOL
I'm in New City, certainly Rockland as it's the county seat. I have a M2P, MP Platinum, MP, Spark, Mavic Mini, Skydio 2 (Flamewheel and another kit that uses the motors from the Inspire); tomorrow I'll add the MA2S to the fleet (easier to travel with than the M2P).