DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

RTH Settings

Reactions
I'm new to drones with new Mavic 2 Pro. I live on a mountain, elevation 4800 ft above msl, and about 800 feet above the valley floor I'd like to fly over. I presume once I leave the mountain I need to descend to 400 ft agl. If I'm taking off from the top of my mountain, I don't quite understand what settings I need to change, e.g., rth altitude, max flight altitude, and rth at current altitude - what do these need to be at to get rth to come back up correctly?

The altitude displayed at the bottom of DJI GO is the altitude above or below the takeoff point. When you ascend, that value increases. When you descend, that value decreases. If you fly below the takeoff point, that value will be negative.

The RTH Altitude is the altitude above the takeoff point. If you want your Mavic to fly back to the home point at 200 feet above the takeoff point, then you should set the RTH Altitude to 61 meters.

What's a safe altitude for the RTH Altitude? Find the tallest obstacle above the takeoff point and add 50 feet or so.

When RTH is initiated, the Mavic will ascend to the RTH Altitude before returning home. If the current altitude is negative, it will ascend up to 0 feet and then up to the RTH Altitude.

Thank you, that is very helpful. Not having tried it yet, I wasn't aware the altitude would go negative. makes sense. Do I need to set a max flight altitude, or just leave that? I presume that too relates to the takeoff point, would that be correct?

Reactions: Turn11
Do I need to set a max flight altitude, or just leave that? I presume that too relates to the takeoff point, would that be correct?
Yes, it's the altitude above the takeoff point. You should only set it to a lower altitude if you want to be restricted for some reason. I personally set it to the max and manually restrict myself from flying too high.