DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Rules and being responsible

migmatite67

Reactions
I’m a very new recreational pilot and strive to always fly responsibly. I would like a little input on the rule saying do not fly over people. I took some video along a cliff side walking path the other day and it made me wonder if I was not following rules completely. I picked an area to launch that was back off the path and went up to 200 ft and proceeded out over the bay a bit. I hovered there, took the video and brought the drone back over myself to land. My question is when I moved the drone out over the bay a bit I did fly over the walking path briefly. I honestly do not remember if people were exactly beneath me when I moved out over the bay. Would this be considered flying over people under the rules? I do watch for other aircraft when I fly because sometimes the area I’m in there are smaller aircraft that fly lower and I make sure I stay well away from their line of flight. Thank you in advance for any responses.

Flying "Over People" is pretty cut and dried. If no people on the path then NO you weren't flying over people. If even a single person was ever directly under (or in the path if the aircraft had a catastrophic failure) you would be considered at fault.

Welcome to the forum :)

Reactions: Thomas B