DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Rules and regs in Spain

NEILMAC

Reactions
Hi, complete newbie here...

Having just bought a Mini 2 Fly More Combo I'm busy trying to understand where I'm going to be able to fly it. So far I have looked at drones.enaire.es to try and understand their mapping and also dji's flysafe mapping which seems to be much more lenient when it comes to restricted areas.

I live in Spain in a little village and although out in the sticks a bit, Enaires mapping puts me within 8km of an aerodrome (small place that does a bit of microlight training and flying) and next to some protected natural areas.

So really, what I'd like to understand is whether I'm likely to be able to get any kind of permission to fly a recreational <250g drone with a camera in these areas or are they just 'out of bounds' full-stop?

ENAIRE-Drones.png

Image shows my location and surrounding areas on the Enaire mapping.

It its possible to get permissions how do I start finding out who to contact?

Anyone dealt with similar?

Reactions: Chris4koi
As a recreational pilot you can only fly in the uncoloured areas. Flying in the 8km zone of the microlight airspace requires permission from the airfield. You have to show registered operators permit, insurance, pilots certificate and provide a flight plan with time and date of the flight. Then notify the airfield before and after the flight.

The national parks are similar, you require AESA approval and permission from the park authorities. Same paperwork as the airfields.

Theres plenty of open areas near you where it’s possible to fly a drone. I used to live South Alicante where there is very little space available for recreational pilots.

The mini 2 can be used near people and property at a maximum high of 20m. So it can be used most places in the grey areas with care.