DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Rules for the new pilot

chipbl

Reactions
Hey all, newbie here and thanks for the add. In order to be a good drone citizen, I have done considerable research on various sites and many YouTube vids and even registered my Mini 2. I’m getting a pretty good handle on things but wanted to get the collective opinion on a few areas. Feel free to link me out to other posts if this has been covered!

I’ve studied extensively the DJI app, Airmap, Kitty Hawk, and the FAA pages and have a good idea on what the various layers represent and what needs to be done with respect to each layer. My objective is to eventually build up a matrix similar to the very helpful ones I’ve seen on YouTube but add what I, as a recreational flyer, specifically need to do (over and above the DJI app authorizations, i.e., with the FAA) to be able to fly within the rules.

Here’s where things fall apart for me: I live near a major airport, Class B (controlled) airspace. It’s very clear what I need to do in the blue Authorization Zone (in my case, with LAANC). But, for example, if I try to set up a flight plan in presumably non-controlled airspace but within 5 miles of an airport; do I need to contact the tower? What if there is no tower and it’s just a landing strip, but technically still an airport? Some airports do have a form to fill out on their individual site to apply, or there’s always DroneZone, but it’s unclear to me exactly what I need to do in some of these cases. Just trying to do the right thing but sometimes the permutations are a bit confusing. Thoughts?