DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Saving improperly closed files

previtij

Reactions
This is probably a rookie question. I am new to Drone Photography. I am utilizing a DJI Mini 2 and editing with DaVinci Resolve 17. As most photographers know, if you power down the drone before closing a file it leaves the file in an unstable state. I have two files from my last outing that might have suffered this fate. The files load into DaVinci and I can edit them. They fail during the rendering process and I notice in the timeline that there is no time information. Is there any process I could use that would repair these files? They both play normally in VLC.

If the files where not closed down before powering down they should not even play in VLC from my experience but I guess anything is possible. One thing you might want to try is start a short video and close it down the right way. In most cases this will repair any damaged files on the card.
There are other 3rd party programs that might also work but that would be the easiest way to try first.

Reactions: Tufargon
If in the drone, just powering down closes out the sd card. If in the smart controller you must "pop up" the sd card for it to be properly closed for use in other computers. Yeah - pop up is what DJI calls "eject" ...

If in the drone, just powering down closes out the sd card.
The OP is not asking about 'closing out' the SD card... he's talking about powering down the drone while video is still recording.

@umanbean

Good point... but if VLC can play the file, VLC should also be able to convert the file to some intermediate format, and make the file whole again.

@previtij