DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

SC: upgrade DJI GO 4 now, or wait for firmware update?

freelance

Reactions
I updated a new SC to the latest firmware (version 01.00.0530) a couple of weeks ago, and that installed DJI Go 4 version 4.3.16. The Apple app store shows three newer bug fix versions (4.3.17, 4.3.18, 4.3.20). Should I update to 4.3.20 now, or wait for the next firmware update? I've had no problems, so am content to wait unless there are some important bug fixes.

If it is recommended to update, how is that done? I have no knowledge of Android so need explicit instructions. I've read other threads and videos about adding apps, but they all seem to say "here is a work around" or "first 'root' your device, then ..." Is their an officially approved way to update/add SC apps?

Reactions: M2Pro
The version of GO 4 for the SC is a special variant of GO...and Android, so you can’t update it from the Apple App store.

The only approved way to update it is thru DJI Assistant 2.

The version of GO 4 for the SC is a special variant of GO...and Android, so you can’t update it from the Apple App store.

The only approved way to update it is thru DJI Assistant 2.

Thanks, I did try DJI Assistant 2, and that only supports firmware updates, not individual apps. So if that is only approved way, that says wait for next firmware (which makes sense since as you point out it is a special version of DJI GO 4, not the ones on the Android or Apple app stores.