DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Seriously torn!

PaperCrane

Reactions
I genuinely don't know which way to leap here! I was going to buy an MP in November, but held back. Now I really don't know which to get. I can only afford one!

Pros for the Air:
  • Better bitrate. That feels potentially a huge deal. Being able to stick a camera up there is kind of the point for me. The lower bitrate on the MP could be a deal breaker for that one
  • Rear sensors
  • APAS
  • Both of these last two because I'm just starting out with my first 'serious' drone and any flying aids are a good idea until I'm halfway competent
  • Likely to have a longer shelf life

Pros for the MP:
  • Display on the controller. Also huge and potentially a dealbreaker for the Air. See above re flying aids
  • Occusync. Wifi on the Air troubles me. From what I've read, it's not as good and more prone to errors
  • Proven technology

Irrelevances:
I'm not planning on flying great distances, so the battery life isn't my main concern (although I bet just about everyone that's ever bought a drone has probably said that at some point)
Gesture control. I can imagine that getting old pretty quickly.
Another 2.5mph. Really? Because 40mph just isn't fast enough?

Might have to flip a coin...

It’s a tough call. You are kind of in drone purgatory right now. The Air just came out, and the MPII on the horizon. Personally while the new sensors and features are neat, there are some things that personally don’t care for, especially for the price. There is no screen for telemetry on the RC. Not a huge deal, but I like being able to see battery life, satellite connection etc, especially if the app crashes.