DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Should I get the Mini 2 or wait for the Mini 3 Pro (for closeup 3D scanning/photogrammetry use)

loggie24

Reactions
Hi all, complete drone beginner here.

I suppose some might think this is a stupid question, but i'm really not sure if I should wait for the Mini 3 or just go for a Mini 2. I will exclusively use the drone for 3D scanning/photogrammetry. As time is of essence, my preferred workflow would be to extract individual frames out of the videos shot by the drones, so individual frame quality/sharpness is of highest importance.

Keep in mind that I will NOT be doing any sort of large scale landscape/distant object scanning, but rather a lot of close up shots of things like cliffs and other large objects that are not easily accessible with a camera.

My budget is quite strict. It would be possible to shell out the 900$ for the Mini 3, but considering It would only come with the drone and a fancy contrller, while I can get a Mini 2 flymore combo kit with 3 batteries and tons of accessories for around 5-600$ it is admittedly the more tempting deal for me, however again I don't really know much about the two drones besides having compared footage which to my eye at least doesn't seem too far apart in terms of pure image quality.

Would appreciate anyone with input, especially if you have experience with what I want to use the drone for.

Thanks!

Note; would anyone happen to have RAW footage to share of either drones of a closeup objective? I mostly seem to find distant landscape shots which again isn't exactly what i'm looking for.

Reactions: MA2 317