DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Starting from scratch! Hello!

Dronosaurus

Reactions
Hello everyone,

My day job is flying for a major airline, but now I seem to have a lot of extra time on my hands. I have my 107 certificate, an LLC where I do aviation consulting for business development, safety management systems, and flight ops training, and I'd like to add some drone photo/inspection services to my offerings as well.

I have zero experience with professional photography, and zero experience using drones, though I am a motivated and quick study.

I haven't yet purchased anything - currently caught in the analysis paralysis phase. But I have narrowed it down to the Mavic 2 Air and Mavic Pro 2. I will also need a new computer (currently use a 2014 Macbook) and probably photo software...but I'm getting ahead of myself. I'm looking at this as a marathon and not a sprint, but the amount of information out there is overwhelming, which is why I'm here.

Any guidance/wisdom/anecdotes/advice is much appreciated, and I hope to be able to return the favor someday.

Thanks for letting me join the community!
DS

Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .Thumbswayup

Welcome to the forum :)

You might find some valuable resources over at:

My suggestions:

A) Spend a lot of time learning photography and getting very good at flying the UAS in precise and safe manners. You want your final product to Stand Out from the crowd in every way possible.
B) Don' spend a lot of $$ on equipment up front if you don't have to. As your needs grow add to your equipment but you don't need the latest and greatest to make #$$.