DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Sunset Capture - Difference between Video and Photo

Geekser

Reactions
I am new to flying Drones and a novice photographer - but am trying to learn - I purchased the Mavic Air 2 and have been enjoying piloting the drone around my home - the camera is awesome - better than I thought it would be - but I have a question and hope someone can offer some help -

I wanted to capture the sunset the other day - and took the MA2 up and captured some video and HDR images. I used auto settings for both - what struck me as odd was that the quality of the sunset (Colors) was very different when comparing the photos to the videos - and the only way I could get a single photo that captured the best colors from the sunset was by editing the video and capturing a single frame for a photo.

When I looked athe videos, the colors were good - but in the photos, there were absolutely no colors at all - so, my question is - what did I do wrong? Why were the photos lacking the colors I saw in the sky and in the videos I captured? See examples - the first image (Sunset phoito 1) was a photo taken with the drone = while the other image was a shot that I captured from inside a video I captured. I don't understand why the video capture has more color than the photo - they were taken a minute apart - what am I doing wrong ?

Attachments

• sunset photo - 1.jpg
    5.6 MB · Views: 77
  • MKE Sunset Photo4.4jpg.jpg
    MKE Sunset Photo4.4jpg.jpg
    608.3 KB · Views: 93
Last edited:
The still image is very underexposed, probably 2stops at least. The drone image has normal exposure. The still camera settings were wrong for thelight you were trying to photograph under. Try setting the still picture settings to automatic unless you want to mess with the settings yourself.

Reactions: Geekser
my question is - what did I do wrong? Why were the photos lacking the colors I saw in the sky