DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Take the exact same photo/location at different times of day?

richtj99

Reactions
Hi,

I would like to get a few shots of my house with my Mavic Pro. Ideally i would love to find the 'spot', save it, take a photo, land & do a few photos from various parts of the day. I think it would also be cool to do the same at night with all the lights on.

Is there a way to have the Mavic go to the same spot, same gimbal setting, etc?

I am new to this so go easy on me if this is a pretty obvious question.

Thanks,
Rich

Reactions: Ping^Spike
I use Litchi for that, You can set your waypoints, your POI even tell it to take photos or video. You can save it and run it as many times as you like.

I simple way would be to get into position, point the camera down, note what is center, note altitude, then frame.

Wow! That Litchi app looks like its pretty amazing. Can I use that instead of using the DJI Go 4 app? I think I read something about being stuck using the DJI app?

I'm not sure if DJI waypoints have gimbal settings...do they?
You are correct, but Litchi does.

Wow! That Litchi app looks like its pretty amazing. Can I use that instead of using the DJI Go 4 app? I think I read something about being stuck using the DJI app?
Yes you can, but you'll still need to keep Go4 handy, as Litchi does not control all of the Mavic's settings. As for in-flight settings, Litchi does it all. I do find that Litchi has focus issues from time to time.

I simple way would be to get into position, point the camera down, note what is center, note altitude, then frame.

Thats pretty much how I would do it and then use Photoshop to align, grade and resize them to match each other.

Rob

Yeah, but how do you get into exactly same position? Pity POIs do not stay saved...at least not in my case.