DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Taking of from a moving vehicle problem

MacPap

Reactions
Hi
while waiting for my Mavic (as so many), I am making scenarios of what to do when it arrives. Doing that and reading and viewing all about intelligent modes I wondered about something. Maybe it seems stupid to the experienced users but I am a complete newbie in this. So here it goes.

Is the Mavic or the DJI Go app for that matter able to fly to the controller instead of going home? And Ill explain.

Imagine I start the drone from a moving boat and do all the flying around I want. At some point suppose I want to use the return to home function. The Mavic would fly to the take off coordinates and try to land. However with the boat moving around there would be no solid ground under it hence no place to land.

Same problem applies if for some reason id like to use the home lock feature.

So is there a way to make the drone fly toward the Remote controller? Or maybe set as new home the position of the remote while the drone is in flight?

Thx in advance

MacPap

Last edited:
Is the Mavic or the DJI Go app for that matter able to fly to the controller instead of going home?
No. However, if you're using a mobile device that has a GPS receiver (e.g. a cellular iPad Mini 4), you could manually reset the home point to your mobile device's current location at anytime after takeoff. That's a manual process, so you'll need to keep resetting the home point as you move to a new location.

An alternative, would be to use Litchi in place of DJI GO. It includes a dynamic home point feature.

Reactions: DrPeppar
thx msinger

actually what I plan to do is (sailing a lot) to document our sailing adventures. Being in mid of nowhere the only possible point to land and take off would be the boat.

And yes Ill be using it with an iPad min. SO i guess ill try if it works before trying the Litchi app since it is not for free (lol).

thx again