DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

The socket to the left of the SD card slot

DafyddGrif

Reactions
As you will note, I have just joined and cannot see anything in the User Manual or online which explains what the small socket is to the left of the SD card slot underneath the cover at the back of the Mavic Air - will someone please enlighten me?

As above. You can use it for transferring files directly from the Mavic. It’s quicker to take out the SD card, but obviously- if you’ve used the onboard memory, this is the only way to get it off in full resolution (you can still get low res versions from Go4).

Reactions: Thomas B
Thank you, and you are quite correct that it is page 8; however, the image is not all that obvious - and, I have read the manual - I'm somewhat used to reading them since I am a particle physicist at CERN in Switzerland, I must read around 6 a week...

As above. You can use it for transferring files directly from the Mavic. It’s quicker to take out the SD card, but obviously- if you’ve used the onboard memory, this is the only way to get it off in full resolution (you can still get low res versions from Go4).
Thanks - very useful - the SDXC card slot is a bit of a challenge...

Thanks - very useful - the SDXC card slot is a bit of a challenge...

Yep. I carry a small pocket knife that has a pair of tweezers built in, and they were handy for getting it out - but my wife lost them.

Reactions: Stormin
Yep. I carry a small pocket knife that has a pair of tweezers built in, and they were handy for getting it out - but my wife lost them.
Attach a piece of folded sellotape over the SD card, to make a tail that hangs out of the rear cover, do not cover the contacts on the card for obvious reasons, you may need to replace this at ad-hoc times, I have used this method for a year it works well and saves a lot of messing with tweesers, the re usable tape is the best, trim it to the width of the card