DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Thinking of Starting Drone Buisness

zhuebner

Reactions
I am currently a college student and considering starting a aerial photography business for real estate. To begin with, I am not looking for this to be a main source of income at all, I have a job after college and just looking for this to be side hustle during the remainder of last year. I recently had a Mavic Pro Platinum but sold it to fund other wants. I enjoyed flying but never learned the editing half which is why I am currently looking at learning adobe premier pro before buying another drone again. My plan is to buy either a Mavic Pro 2 or a Phantom 4 2.0 after I become comfortable with editing and then get my Part 107 license. My plan would then be to go around to local real estate offices and offer to fly properties for free to practice my flying and editing skills and go from there. I have a couple questions regarding all of this.
1. Would you recommend the Mavic 2 Pro or Phantom 4 2.0 for professional photography?
2. Should I get my Part 107 license before I buy the drone?
3. Is Adobe Premiere Pro a good beginner editing program to learn?
4. When would be the appropriate time to create an LLC?
I'm open to any advice y'all have for me too. Thanks in advance!

1. I would go with either a used Mavic 2 Pro or a DJI Air 2s. They will both serve you well and will cost under 1500 with three batteries. Phantom 4 Pro+ V2 is great drone but is bulky and costs a bit more to maintain.

2. You need your 107 as soon as you make your first flight that isn't for your own enjoyment or practice. I would get the certification ASAP because you never know when a business opportunity will show up.... but it doesn't matter if its before or after the drone.