DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Thumbwheel problem on Smart Controller with Mavic 2 Pro

CeeJayW

Reactions
I have just bought my first Drone. A Mavic 2 Pro with a smart controller. It has only left the ground twice, hovered at 4 feet then landed. No crashes or damage.
Following an update to 'DJI GO 4', the right hand thumbwheel has ceased working.
I am a complete newbie with drones but have followed some basic fault finding techniques and I believe the problem is to do with the update. I have listed the actions I have taken below with the conclusions that I have come to. It would be great if someone could look over what I have done and suggest a cure or course of action that would remedy the problem. I am anxious to get flying soon and to not invalidate my warranty or make the situation worse.

Drone has not been flown other than two practice take offs ie take off, hover at 4 feet and land. It has not been involved in an accident and there is no damage to it.

Gimball

Calibration;
when instigated by the smart controller, the gimball moves up and down and rotates without restriction.

This rules out a physical problem with the Gimball

Gimball also responds to the left thumb-wheel by rotating from up to down position

Smart Controller

Calibration of thumb-wheels appears to work ok. Blue band appears and controller reports that calibration is successful on both left and right wheels.

Left thumb-wheel works and instigates vertical rotation of the gimball

-------------Right thumb-wheel gets no response from the Gimball--------

Vertical swipe on the screen instigates vertical rotation of the Gimball

Horizontal swipe on the screen instigates left/right rotation of the Gimball

All was working before download of update to the smart controller

I think that this indicates that
a) the Gimball is physically in good shape
b) the Gimball responds to instruction from the Smart Controller