DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Time Remapping?

RTKD

Reactions
I've been experimenting with time remapping more and I can't decide whether I like it or not. On one hand I would relish the ability to produce more dynamic footage, but on the other hand it's difficult to pull off without looking mechanical, and sometimes sped up footage looks downright goofy.
Now time-lapses are another story. I've done a few to get the hang of it, but I've yet to get one in a place and time worth shooting.

What do you guys think? Do you speed up / slow down your footage very often? Do you have a time-lapse that you're particularly proud of? Please post what you've got!

This video has some of my favorite sped up shots I've used. Some of the beginning is at normal speed, but as the music picks up almost the whole thing is between 2 - 8X

[Edit] It's a little off topic, but I'm an aspiring race drone pilot. Not for racing mind you, I love it's potential for capturing high velocity footage in close proximity, and at amazing angles. (hence my desire to speed up my footage) Thing is: they're kinda difficult to fly accurately, and it takes a lot of time on the sticks to master. Many of you may have seen this kind of footage, but this is a new pilot I discovered tonight that's pretty much unknown, but won't be after today. I hope you find it as inspiring as I do

Last edited:
Thanks for sharing. I also want to fly the racing drone and I know this type of drone is usually constructed by the pilot himself. So I don't know where to start. Do you have any tutorial resources?

Reactions: RTKD
I've built two, wrecked and fixed them both enough times to get an idea of what I'm up against. Fixing them is pretty much a constant even for the best pilots, so if you're serious about flying it does make sense to build your own.