DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

To light or not to light (In the UK)? And some protection?

mADsAILOR

Reactions
Hi all,

pardon any possible duplication, forum search didn't (immediately) yield any specific answers.
I'm a very new pilot, fortunate enough to start on a Mini 2 and loving it as I learn.

I've read (but not tested) the actual weight is 242 grams so any payload up to 7grams will keep the Mini 2 below the 250g threshold.

Where I live, daytime visibility is generally bad (more so this time of year) and with "line of sight" requirements, toying with the idea of getting some lights for my Mini 2 (have visually lost it a few times already). Some research has yielded that the Arc "V" by Firehouse Tech is a favourite and only 4g (but US based, so not sure on delivery times/prices).

My question is: do Mini 2 owners generally add lights (those in the UK at least) for daytime flights, what other implications are observed in flight/stability (payload mode of course) and what other hardware options do people use?

The same would go for weatherproofing: I've seen the Phantom Rain products which look great, but nervous about flying in mist (lest alone rain) with open prop motors and presumably the gimbal motors are still exposed? I also assume weight would exceed 3g for any such solution?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and advice.

Firstly I am not sure the sub 250g bit has much significance for the Mini 2 any more.
It is not a toy and it has a camera so according to sec 3 of Getting what you need to fly | UK Civil Aviation Authority
you need an "operator ID".

Secondly be wary of imports and any duty and duty collection fees that will be incurred, you will need to look into that yourself.
You should also browse the recent threads concerning duty on repaired drones sent from Holland, curtesy of brexit.