DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

To LUT or not LUT that is the question.

Reactions
Im fairly new self taught thanks to YouTube in Adobe Premiere Pro, and have been doing different tuts with color grading and use of LUTs, after an extensive set of lessons on curves, scopes, and color wheels, I felt pretty confident on my afterwork for clients with my video color correction, but the problem is like art is subjective, my eye seems to go for vibrant, and I always need to pull back.
Question is finding all the free LUTs is a pain especially installing them as presets in 2019..... Are LUTs used for just a starting point, quick fix, or non manual way to do things? Should I always be trying do this manually? What are your experiences and are there any free LUTs, realistic feel that you use? I think I see them and once I click think that looks great, and move on.. but I feel its cheating or is it a way to get a different view than what I normally would use?

And is the LUT viewer in Resolve better to use than manually doing each one in Adobe?

Thanks for the help!

I tried learning colour grading in Resolve, I was getting descent results. But I discovered my grading lacked consistency - I needed a baseline to start from and just do minor adjustments depending on lighting and scene. So I started looking at available LUTs. I read good things about the FilmPoet's Mavic Air LUT. I bought it. While I am not wowed by it, I am satisfied. I find that it gives me a good starting point without destroying my footage. And like I said, my edited works now have better consistency. The price I paid is nothing compared to the amount of time it saves me.

Just the way the tempo and flow of the footage and the tempo and flow of the music sets or enhances the mood and emotion of footage, the color grade is just as important.
When all three are in harmony, the presentation is compelling and makes its point.