DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

topo mapping program

bburnett15

Reactions
I have a not big personal project that would help me a great deal if I could do a detailed topo survey of an area that’s not more than 200 ft x 200 ft.
Because of the detail required for cut and fill, id like to be able to generate a plan that has contours every 1-2 vert feet.
before you ask (or tell me): I am a licensed Part 107 Pilot, i am not a licensed site professional or surveyor. I am a licensed Architect but this is for a schematic design of a personal , pro-bono project. I may not need to use this again- but if I find that it works well fir what i need, i may be able to use it on other projects.
Is there a mapping app or program you have used that sounds like what i need or that you could recommend?
Thanks!

I have a not big personal project that would help me a great deal if I could do a detailed topo survey of an area that’s not more than 200 ft x 200 ft.
Because of the detail required for cut and fill, id like to be able to generate a plan that has contours every 1-2 vert feet.
before you ask (or tell me): I am a licensed Part 107 Pilot, i am not a licensed site professional or surveyor. I am a licensed Architect but this is for a schematic design of a personal , pro-bono project. I may not need to use this again- but if I find that it works well fir what i need, i may be able to use it on other projects.
Is there a mapping app or program you have used that sounds like what i need or that you could recommend?
Thanks!
It’s extremely complicated but I’ll point you in the right direction.

Note that without ground control points or an RTK drone your resolution of two feet isn’t realistic for absolute altitude (MSL) but you may be able to achieve that as a relative resolution for such a small area. For the altitude to be accurate you’d need at least one point you know the exact altitude to calibrate your map.