DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Total Novice in UK - Should I start with Mini or go for MA2? Help please!

DorsetDrifter

Reactions
Hi, I'm new to the exciting world of drones. I am a keen photograher but never done any video work. I have been intrigued by the world of drones for some time and now that I have more free time want to get started.

I have registered with the CAA and obtained Flyer and Operator id's so now to buy a drone!

Having never flown a drone before I'm uncertain whether to start with the Mavic Mini and learn the basics and then upgrade, or jump straight in with the Mavic Air 2.

I know I have a lot to learn and no amount of watching online tutorials etc will beat (the steep) hands on learning curve.

Although the initial cost is a consideration, should I start with the Mini or go straight for the MA2 and take things very slowly?

I look forward to your views and advice.

im new to drones i bought a mavic mini great drone but range not to good and i was always loosing signal upgraded to mavic air 2 no signal loss and a lot heavier so ok in winds i love it but its all down to cost
Thanks, So as I want to end up with the MA2, if I can justify the cost it's not foolhardy to start with it?

I started about a month ago with the Mavic Mini - my first drone. If money were no object, I would have gone with the Mavic Air 2. Period.
Having said that, I'm very happy with my Mini, and I'm learning technique - flying the drone, operating the gimbal, adjusting camera settings, creating smooth video and nice looking images. Mixed in with all that learning is finding a lost drone (not VERY lost and easily found, but heart-stopping at the time), coping with signal loss or near-loss, dealing with high winds and high altitude... There's sooo much to learn!