DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Totally bewildered

KingRat

Reactions
I am completely new to tech. Lets get that out of the way. I am only just beginning to understand that an 'APP' is what I would call a program. I have been left way behind, I realise that now. My 'new' upgrade computer is Windows 7 - I have only just upgraded from Windows XP in the last couple of months, just before Microsoft decided to withdraw support for my new computer! Tough, I will have to live with it for a few year yet.

I am trying to get my head around what I need to get my new toy flying. I don't have any kind of screen to use with it and I am looking at the various options, which I don't actually understand - people throw around names and model numbers with *** abandon and I don't know what they mean, there are only so many questions one can ask goggle. After which my head is spinning like a top.

In simple terms, what do I need to fly my new drone please? Once I get the screen device to work with the controller (still trying to find that out, without spending a month's wages), now I find there is whole raft of programmes to use... why would one use these other programmes instead of the one DJI provides?

How difficult/ easy is it to load the necessary programmes onto whatever I end up with? I have never downloaded anything. Years ago, when they first came out, I bought an iPlayer gold, but I never managed to work out how you got music onto it, so I gave it away with it having been played with but never actually used, because I couldn't work it out! That is the kind of level of incompetence with tech I have. So in your answers, please don't be too clever, I need to absolute basics.
Cheers,
Simon.

Reactions: Cw4bray