DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Totally flummoxed. - where are the dng files

lgbillman

Reactions
I’m a professional sports photographer, so know about raw and jpg files and optimal photo settings and lighting, but took my first twirl with a new Mavik 2 pro this week. I set it to shoot RAW (only). I had the card in the drone itself, not the smart controller. I was shooting at a 3:2 ratio. I (thought I) had 97 stunning aerial photos over the Chesapeake Bay just as the sun started going down. I pulled the card from the drone, put it in the SD adapter, put that in my MacBook Pro, opened up my photo ingest program, PhotoMechanic, and every single of the 97 photo files displayed as .jpg with a size of 160x112 - ZERO mp. I tried to ingest to Lightroom Classic - same result. Mac operating system, PM and LR are all the latest and greatest versions. I manually opened the SD card folder and see on .jpg files. WHERE ARE THE RAW FILES??? I’m assuming what I’m seeing are the jpg preview files, but I see no indication anywhere that there’s a dng file on the card. I’ve watched videos, read articles, read posts on this forum - these are the smallest files I’ve seen referenced anywhere. What am I doing wrong - I’m hoping it’s just operator error - I’d WELCOME that! Please advise