DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Tricks to takeoff from and land on a boat?

How do you do that?
Some people might laugh, but I'd wear safety goggles. You can't really see the props, and if you hand catch near shoulder height, you risk your eyes. I haven't heard of it happening, but you don't want to be the first.

How is it done? Boat on a lake, river, sea, calm or choppy waters...
It’s really difficult. I’m an experienced pilot and just this week I took off and landed on a boat going 5mph in fairly calm waters and it was fairly difficult even for me. Taking off isn’t that big of a deal just do it from the stern.

To land I fly the drone out a good ways in front of the bow just at above my head height and positioned myself at the bow. As the boat approached the drone I started flying it slowly forward in the same direction as the boat but not as fast as the boat and when the boat caught up with the drone I grabbed it from underneath and held onto it for dear life while full left stick down. The drone will try to get away with all it has but you just gotta left stick straight down and hold onto it. Nothing graceful about this process

I think I would only want to do it if I was able to get the boat stopped and the waters were not to rough. I like the idea of safety glasses noted above, and I would add in some good work or mechanic gloves. How about a sturdy hat to protect the old noggin? Props can give some nasty cuts. Plus maybe the boat should not be too crowded, just incase you loose control a bit in the last few feet. I would practice the hand launch and capture on dry land first. There was article in one of the latest Yachting Mags from the UK about drone flying from small boats, so it can be done. I’ll see if I can dig it up. Good Luck.