DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Trying to understand FAA rules

allears

Reactions
I'm a beginner considering buying a Mavic Air 2. I've been reading up on FAA rules and am not sure I understand them.

I live in a small town with a municipal airport right in the middle. My house is in a zone E2, even though it's not next to the airport or near the flight path. On the maps and apps I've tried, the ceiling shows as '0'.

Does this mean I'll be unable to fly in my back yard, even if I request a LAANC permission? My aim would only be short flights well under 100' just to learn to control the drone.

I guess my basic question is, do the ceiling indications on the map indicate absolute limits, or can I apply for permission to fly for recreational purposes?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

You won't be able to fly in that zone but you do have areas around you that you can with LAANC approval. A short drive and you won't even need that. I've started using this little map to find areas to fly. I'm not far from you (Corning) and it's pretty well wide open here.

I'm a beginner considering buying a Mavic Air 2. I've been reading up on FAA rules and am not sure I understand them.

I live in a small town with a municipal airport right in the middle. My house is in a zone E2, even though it's not next to the airport or near the flight path. On the maps and apps I've tried, the ceiling shows as '0'.

Does this mean I'll be unable to fly in my back yard, even if I request a LAANC permission? My aim would only be short flights well under 100' just to learn to control the drone.

I guess my basic question is, do the ceiling indications on the map indicate absolute limits, or can I apply for permission to fly for recreational purposes?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
As a recreational pilot, you cannot fly in an area where the max altitude is 0', nor can you get a waiver.