DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Ultra sonic module data error what does it mean

BU51GET

Reactions
I am fairly new to the drone scene and am flying a Mavic Air. I feel a little worried that on a recent flight on RTH I saw a message flash up “ultra sonic module data error contact customer support”. I saw it flash up but you know warning messages or on screen for such a short time you don’t really have long enough to read it. It was only when I played back flight history I was able to read it clearly. Thoughts please?

The Ultra-Sonic part of your Mavic does the ground sensing (vertical). Two questions before you go further:
1) Have you mounted anything onto the bottom of the Mavic? (I got this error when I used a protection plate like this: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hensych®-C...&sr=8-19&keywords=mavic+pro+gimbal+protection ).
2) Are you seeing any flashing Amber / red LED's at the back of the Mavic - and if so, do their flash sequence align with any error condition mentioned in your flight manual??
[I'm a Mavic Pro pilot - so sorry if this is completely different on the Mavic Air ...]

Thanks so much for your fast reply!
I have nothing mounted on the undercarriage and I cannot remember if any amber lights were flashing. I have not flown since as I was in distress haha. A little background for you. I was flying on an overcast day on a fairly elevated position at least 1000 ASL. It’s a quiet place in the Pennines in NE England. The weather started as overcast but in a very short time low level mist rolled in and I lost sight of the drone. Couldn’t see or hear it so panic set in. I hit RTL it seemed an eternity before it made it to launch point. Maybe the poor visibility hindered it seeing the ground and thus sent the message?I plan to fly today in a different spot and will report any repetition.