DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

US v. Causby (1946) and what altitude can you legally fly at over someone's property

Status
Not open for further replies.

iReviewFrozenDinners

Reactions
This sometimes comes up on the /r/drones subreddit that I help moderate and wanted to get your guys' thoughts and maybe even some clarification from people smarter and more knowledgeable than I.

Some people are claiming that people have ownership of airspace above their property, more specifically the 83 feet above their land quoting the Supreme Court United States v. Causby decision from 1946. Another user claims that "the owner's airspace...includes anything they can reasonably use or build upon, plus a buffer zone to enjoy it."
I'm not a lawyer, but it doesn't make much sense to me that a case from 75 years ago regarding airplanes flying over a farmer's property scaring his chickens to death much applies to modern drone operation and it seems to me that the FAA ultimately controls and regulates the airspace and aircrafts flying through it. Obviously common courtesy states that you shouldn't hover in someone's backyard and that might actually be against some privacy or harassment laws, but what is the actual law or consensus here?

You can check out the post that started it here if you're interested. I posted this question over at the Commercial Drone Pilots forum as well. Thanks in advance,

Oh boy this question has always got my attention. LOL It is amazing just how many different answers you will get.
Like this: "the FAA's definition of aircraft to include what were generally considered model aircraft affects the definition of navigable airspace. Previously, navigable airspace had always been considered with regard to manned aircraft. How much more airspace is navigable with unmanned aircraft is not clear but the argument can be made that that a lot more of it can be considered "navigable"."